Italian team motivational letters

Dear Erasmus Staff,

Angela Di Gioia

I am writing to you because I would like to be a part of your group. I am a sociable girl, with clear ideas about human values and I am open to knowledge and traditions different from mine.

These days, a lot of news about migration is transmitted on television. Many people move from one place to another with the intention of settling temporarily or permanently in a new position driven by different motives. In Italy, we welcome refugees; poor people who flee from their homeland where the conditions are disastrous.

I often hear about people who are very against welcoming them because they are afraid of the refugees’ language, the colour of their skin, their culture and their traditions. My maternal grandfather’s family were emigrants during the 1950s, in South America. They left their home with many doubts and fears to start a new life. They managed to integrate with fatigue and today they are established citizens in their lives and work.

I think that diversity is an added value to our society and cultural exchange helps us grow. I would love to take part in this project to compare myself with boys and girls of other nationalities in my country, so I can represent the qualities and merits of Italy.

I agree with Marcel Proust’s quote “The real voyage of discovery does not consist in finding new territories, but in possessing other eyes and to see the universe through the eyes of another”. We must put ourselves in another person’s position so we can understand how they are feeling.

Kind regards,   Angela Di Gioia

xxxxxxxxx

Dear staff Erasmus,

Assunta Viscido

I’m a girl and I’m 13 years old. I attend the third year of the middle school; so I’m at the end of this cycle of studies and I would be happy if I could participate in this experience. I’m a very studious teenager, I love doing sports, I’m available and kind to everyone. I’m very determined, too. Usually, when I do something, I try to get it committing myself for the top.

 

I think that “Erasmus” is an important and constructively experience for us. Actually, it permits to share ideas and projects with children of other states. In this way we will improve our English, too.

It will be fantastic to know how they spend their days, their free time, what are their passions and their habitudes.

 

In my opinion it is also a way to discuss about the problems in the world, the causes and how we can resolve them. For example, a problem about our country consists in migration. It is a shift of people from one side of the country to the other. We can distinguish the “emigration” and “immigration”. Emigration if Italians go abroad; immigration when foreigners come to Italy. Today more than 4 millions of people live in Italy and about half a million of them are illegal immigrants. Very often the immigrants arrive in Italy by means unsuitable for survival.  Actually, the number of men, women and children that die every week is very high because the boats sink. Then this people have another problem: how to live in new country respecting the laws. In my opinion Italian state have to be cozy with immigrants but they must be civil and correct men.

In my opinion it is right to encourage them, we must give them the hope that they can start again, they can have a new life!

Best regards,  Assunta Viscido

xxxxxxx

Hi,

Davide Pafumi

I’m so excited to write this letter because I would love to be part of this project in its last step in Italy. I like the idea to welcome the students coming from other countries in our school and to work with them on the project.

I would also be happy to spend time with them sharing our experiences and having fun together. I usually play online games where I meet new guys from other countries and I really enjoy to have good conversation also about their daily life. We talk about school, music, family, the things we like to…and I also like travelling very much! Visiting new places and see different culture is one of my biggest passion. So I think it would be great to host new friends in my country and in my town, showing them our school and how we live.

I think this project is very important not only for the skills we can develop on film making (filming, writing…) and for improving our English, but also for the impact it may have on civic awareness. I find the topic very interesting because immigration is one of the most delicate these years.

As a part of young generations I think it is very important to reflect and work together against any type of racism and to suggest older people and politicians how to create a future of inclusion and hope. A future without boundaries and where different people can live, work and study together.

OK, now I’d like to speak directly to the guys that are coming to Italy: “Hi guys! I’m a friendly boy. As I say before I like playing games with other guys that are from other countries; my favourite hobby is listening to music and when I finish my homework I always listen to Queen, Lady Gaga and Michael Jackson’s music; my favourite subjects at school are: History, English, French, Maths and Science; twice a week, I go to the swimming pool and I swim (I love swimming!); finally, I will say that I would like to have new friends from other countries. Looking forward to seeing you.

I really hope to be selected for this fantastic project.

Bye. Davide Pafumi

xxxxxxxx

Dear Erasmus Staff,

Fiorella De Marzo

I already know that the exchange will be held in Italy this year, but even if there isn’t the advantage of visiting a foreign nation, I would be happy to welcome in our school the guys coming from Croatia, Spain and Poland.

I think that even if the Cultural Exchange is held in Italy, you can get in touch and meet foreign guys to widen the mind a lot and then I’d like to know other cultures and traditions.

Migration is the main theme of this meeting, a topic that is often talked about in Italy. People’s sensibility about migrations has decreased a lot… It makes me goosebumps the only thought that those peoples come to the west because they run away from wars, and they are left in the open sea, on barges with less capacity than they are. I think that they’re people like us and need to be treated for what they are. On the other hand, we were also immigrants…

Something about me.  I am a sociable and sunny girl, and I’m also very curious. I ‘m very keen to contribute to the welcoming cultural exchange and I’m eager to know other cultures; I really like discovering new things. I would be pleased to take part in the Erasmus for this. Moreover, even if not in English, I’ve already participated in host projects and I think I’m suitable.

Kind regards,  Fiorella De Marzo

 

xxxxxxxxxxx

Dear Staff Erasmus,

Ines Portincasa

I would like to take part in this last project organized by you, since many of my friends have lived this experience before and see the happiness in their eyes struck me a lot and I decided to try.

I am a sociable person; my friends consider me a very smart girl. I am responsible and my parents have always taught me to help others both in moments of disappointment or anger and in moments of happiness; they taught me not to judge people by their appearance and as they say: “Never judge the book by the cover”. I love getting in touch with people of other nationalities, which I have already done several times, to be able to see and compare the way we are and the things we do and of course learning new things. Last but not least to be able to take a break from the usual routines and make new experiences.

I also want to participate in this experience to improve English, since I haven’t only been studying it at school but also in a school of English since I was 8 and finally I could put into practice my knowledge of English with other nationalities.

When I heard the topic of this last exchange, “migrations in Europe”, I had millions of ideas, just because this topic intrigues me and I have a lot to say. Europe has always been a continent, which has welcomed so many different people for millenniums. In recent years, Europe is experiencing a sort of crisis on the side of migration. In Italy the arrivals of migrants have always been numerous, even if from 2017 they have decreased a lot due to the aggressive policies implemented by the Ministry of the Interior with the security decree and the closure of the ports.

I have so much to say and I hope I will have the opportunity to do it.

Thank you,  Ines Portincasa

xxxxxxxxxx

Dear Erasmus Staff,

Vito Moschini

When I was told that this fantastic project was again available for us, I was really excited. I’ve already fulfilled my dream of going abroad, meeting special people that will be forever in my heart. I would be so grateful and honored, if I’m able to meet them again.

Furthermore, I’d like to participate in this project to show the results of every workshop that we’ve done during these months, that I absolutely loved. Speaking about immigration in a few lines, would be too reductive, so, I think that these opportunities are great to shed some light, because we look closely at new realities, different from ours, of which I argue a lot with my family.

If I could, I’d like to live them, to give immense value to this wonderful school career.
Kind regards,  Vito Moschini

Leave a comment